Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee provides advice on the programs and strategic directions of MIMS. The committee promotes awareness within the mathematical community and society at large of the activities of MIMS. It will help in fostering collaboration between MIMS and various institutes or mathematical departments around the world.

  Professor Yves Meyer, Honorary Chairman.

Yves Meyer is a member of the French Academy of Science, a Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences and a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. He was awarded the 1970 Salem Prize and the 2010 Gauss Prize for fundamental contributions to number theory, operator theory and harmonic analysis, and his pivotal role in the development of wavelets and multiresolution analysis.  The Gauss prize is awarded jointly by the International Mathematical Union and the German Mathematical Society for advances in mathematics that have had an impact outside the field. In 2017 Yves Meyer received the prestigious Abel Prize "for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets." The diversity of his work, reflected in its broad range of application, reflects his conviction that intellectual vitality is kept alive by facing fresh challenges.

Habib Ammari,

Habib Ammari is a Director of Research at Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris. A graduate of the Ecole Polytechnique in Paris in 1995, he is a leading expert in asymptotic analysis, integral equations, wave propagation problems and imaging. He has been developing effective asymptotic approaches for imaging and optimal design. H. Ammari is author of more than 150 papers in leading international journals and 5 high profile research books. He has also been establishing many fruitful industrial partnerships with Thalès, the Nuclear Energy Agency (CEA), L'OREAL, and Schlumberger. The interdisciplinary approaches he has been developing in medical imaging and nondestructive testing are expected to have an important societal impact. He is the holder of one international patent on a promising medical imaging modality which introduces for the first time the concept of using interior perturbations in order to achieve better image resolution and stability. Habib Ammari was awarded a European Research Council Advanced Investigator Grant in 2010.

Enrique Zuazua,

Enrique Zuazua is professor in mathematics at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and a Ikerbasque Research Professor at the Basque Center for Applied Mathematics, created by the Basque Government, with the aim of promoting research into the most computational, applied and multi-disciplinary aspects of Mathematics. He has also acted as a member of the advisory board for the launching of the Institute for Mathematical Sciences (ICMAT) , a consortium comprising the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Higher Council for Scientific Research, CSIC) and three Madrid Universities: the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM), Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M) and the Universidad Complutense de Madrid (UCM). His domains of expertise in Mathematics include Partial Differential Equations, Control Theory and Numerical Analysis. He has developed intensive international work having led co-operation programmes with various Latin American countries, as well as with Portugal, the Maghreb, China and Iran, amongst others. He has developed a number of cooperative projects with industries such as AIRBUS-Spain and Arteche Group. He has also been the Principal Investigator for National Plan projects and since 1990 the co-ordinator for European and NATO project networks and the first research coordinator of the i-Math CONSOLIDER Mathematics Project (2007-2011), the Madrid project SIMUMAT (2006–2009). He is Editor in Chief of the Journal “ESAIM:COCV", and member of the Editorial Board for several other journals.

Ghani Zeghib,

Ghani is  "Directeur de Recherches" with the French CNRS, affiliated to the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon. He's a leading expert in Differential and Lorentzian Geometry and in the theory of transformation groups. Ghani has strong and multiple ties with North Africa, having founded a school of geometry through his students in both Algeria (his homeland) and Tunisia. He's the initiator in 2003, together with a small group of North African Geometers, of the GGTM (Geometry and Topology Grouping for the Maghreb).

Nizar Touzi,

Nizar Touzi is Professor of Applied Mathematics at Ecole Polytechnique since 2006, and is currently Vice President of his department. He is co-head of the FBF Chair Derivatives of the future, and Vice-President of the Chair Finance and Sustainable Development. Prior to this, he was co-head of the Finance-Insurance laboratory at CREST (Center for Research in Economics and Statistics in Paris, 2001-2004), and Chair Professor at Imperial College London (2004-2006). Dr. Touzi's research activities are focused on stochastic analysis, stochastic control, with applications to probabilistic numerical methods and financial mathematics. He received the Europlace Institute of Finance Best Paper Award in 2005, the Europlace Institute of Finance Best Young Researcher Award in 2007, the Grand Prix Louis Bachelier of the French Academy of Science in 2012, the University of Toronto Dean’s Distinguished Chair in 2010, and was a session invited speaker at the 2010 International Congress of Mathematicians. Nizar Touzi is presently President of the Bachelier Finance Society (January 2012-December 2014), Co-Editor of the research journal Finance and Stochastics, Co-Editor and founder of the Springer LNM series Paris-Princeton Lectures in Mathematical  Finance, and Associate Editor of various research journals in applied mathematics and finance.

Takaaki Nomura,

Takaaki Nomura is Professor of Mathematics at Faculty of Mathematics, Kyushu University since 2005. His research areas cover representation theory of Lie groups, harmonic analysis on homogeneous spaces, complex analysis and geometry for Siegel domains, Jordan algebras, and homogeneous convex cones with non-associative algebra settings. He has organized several bilateral exchanges using the program given by JSPS (Japan Society for the Promotion of Science) with Tunisia (MHESR), Germany (DFG), Russia (RFBR) and the Netherlands (NWO)