Information for visitors

General Information

Capital : Tunis
Population : 10 074 951 (2007)
Area : 163 610 km²
Coastline : 1 148 km
Language(s) : Arabic, French
*ISO Code : TN
Currency : 1 Tunisian dinar = 1000 millimes
Time zone : GMT + 1h00
Dialing code : +216



Tunisia lies on the on the Mediterranean coast of Africa between Algeria and Libya and forms part of the North African Region. The country’s capital is Tunis.Gabes and Kairouan are important towns. Ports are situated at Bizerta and Sfax.


Regions of Tunisia (24)

Béja Gafsa Kebili Mahdia Sfax Tataouine
Ben Arous Jendouba L'Ariana Medenine Sidi Bouzid Tozeur
Bizerte Kairouan La Manouba Monastir Siliana Tunis
Gabès Kasserine Le Kef Nabeul Sousse Zaghouan